Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

1 Jul

Pants here again. In my last post I talked about what makeup I would buy if my cosmetics bag had been misplaced for a few days. Today, I’m going to talk about something even scarier – what if ALL my makeup was gone FOREVER (ever… ever… ever…)?

Let’s make this a little less upsetting – ONLY my makeup is gone. Everything else is fine. My cat scratched the crap out of the person who stole all my makeup, so they didn’t come back for anything else. And they bled all over their vehicle. And the scratches got infected. And they’ll probably lose at least one leg. And they have terrible acne that even my makeup couldn’t hide. HASHTAG KARMA.

After crying (and probably vomiting), I would have to decide what would really need to be replaced. Because let’s be honest, we might love all of our makeup, but we don’t necessarily use all of it. I’m a sucker for green/turquoise/teal eye shadows, but those aren’t something that I wear everyday.

So if all of my makeup went missing for good, here are the products I would absolutely have to repurchase:

Glimmer & Shimmer / Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

(Clockwise from left: Maybelline Dream Lumi Concealer, Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-hour Primer,
Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder)

Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-hour Primer Broad Spectrum SPF 30 Sunscreen (light) / $34 @ tartecosmetics.com
Years ago I used a tinted moisturizer and loved it. Then I tried 800 products, and each time I would love it for a month, then was over it.  I wanted glowy, natural looking skin, like I wasn’t wearing anything. I went to Sephora and tested all the tinted moisturizers and BB creams from my favorite brands. After talking to a sales girl, she suggested the one that was actually my top runner – the Tarte BB Tinted Treatment 12-hour Primer Broad Spectrum SPF Sunscreen. There’s a lot of words in there, and the two that threw me off were “primer” and “sunscreen.” I wasn’t sure it could be worn by itself, but the associate told me that it could and that she really loved it. It goes on smooth, and has a silky/silicone-like feeling of a primer, but it’s tinted and evens out my skintone. Plus, the sunscreen is great – I went to the West Side Wiener Dog Races last weekend and while my shoulders burned like nobody’s business, my face was fine.

Maybelline Dream Lumi concealer (Radient) / $6.44 @ target.com
Great for brightening under/around my eyes, and the price isn’t too shabby.

Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder (Translucent) / $3.97 @ walmart.com
I honestly can’t tell a difference between this and the MAC Mineral Skin Finish Natural that I’ve been using for the last two years. The packaging isn’t as nice, but who cares?

Glimmer & Shimmer / Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

N.Y.C. Smooth Skin Face Powder Sunny bronzer / $2.99 @ kmart.com
This has good color payoff, I don’t need to use much on my translucent skin AND it’s like $2-3 in most drug stores.

Tarte Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush (Tipsy) / $26 @ tartecosmetics.com
This is probably my favorite blush. It’s bright coral, which makes me happy. Sometimes I forget about it, but whenever I use it again I get mad at myself for not using it more.

Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

Elizabeth Arden Pure Finish Highlighter (Rose Illumination) / $34 @ elizabetharden.com
So glad that rose gold is finally popular again. When I was in 7th grade, it was big. My mom ordered me a rose gold chevron ring from QVC, and I still have it. For years I’ve been waiting for it to get popular again, so I’m pumped to be able to get so many things in this beautiful color. When I heard that Elizabeth Arden was coming out with the Rose Aurora collection, I had to refrain from buying all of it. I settled on the highlighter, and it is definitely my favorite. (My gloomy day pictures don’t do it justice, so visit Fleur De Force’s blog for a swatch.)

Glimmer & Shimmer / Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion (Original) / $12 @ urbandecay.com
I loved this product since I first tried it five years ago. My shadows don’t crease and they look vibrant and freshly applied all day. I would go for the travel tube because you don’t have to use much and it lasts forever.

Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Powder Duo (Medium Brown) / $23 @ anastasia.net
It may seem pricey, but the one I’m using now I’ve had for around two years, and it’s still going strong (that’s a new one in the photo that I STILL haven’t had to use yet). I like powder because it looks more natural and because you get so much more product than in a pencil.

Glimmer & Shimmer / Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

LORAC Mint Edition Palette  (Ulta version) / $36 @ ulta.com
This was a difficult decision. I have a lot of palettes and I like to switch between them every day. I decided to go with the LORAC Mint Edition because it’s what I’ve been using the most lately, and I think it has a good mixture of colors so that I can wear different looks. Plus, it’s limited edition and luckily still available. It has matte colors and really nice shimmery colors, too. BONUS – It comes with a coral lipgloss, gorgeous coral-peach blush AND a makeup bag.

Glimmer & Shimmer / Give me all the makeup and brushes you have

Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof eye liner (Lionfish) / $20 @ stilacosmetics.com
All-time favorite eyeliner. This bronzy color really makes blue eyes look more blue. It works with pretty much any shadow color. (Except oranges or corals – I feel they look a little too Halloweeny/fall-like for this time or year.)

Buxom Lash Mascara (Blackest Black) / $19 @ sephora.com
I haven’t bought mascara in months because I probably have eight years worth of free samples that I’ve been trying to go through. However, if they were all gone, this is the one I’d buy – lots of volume, doesn’t clump and no flaking.

TOTAL: $217.40

Okay, that’s nauseating. I actually feel physically ill thinking about having to replace all of those things at the same time.  So don’t steal my makeup, jerks.

According to my last post, it would have cost me $50.77 to replace all of my makeup using drugstore products that I like, leaving out tools or brushes, which I didn’t even get into here.

Whew! Do you know what you’d replace if you lost all of your makeup?
xo,
Pants

Leave a comment