Pants’ Plum Picks!

7 Mar

Pants here. Lately, I’ve been really loving plum lip colors. I feel it’s a good transition color from winter to spring. I think they’re really flattering for pale ladies, such as Red and myself. Today, I’ll share my favorites that I’ve accumulated over the last few months.

Sephora Rouge Cream Lipstick in Crush 23 ($12, sephora.com) – This is described as a deep reddish plum. I have to be very careful when applying this because it is on the darker side. I usually use a lip brush, then apply some extra foundation or concealer around my lips to make it look cleaner. My skin is kinda pinky, so if you have red/pink areas on your face, a deep color like this will make them stand out. The lipstick looks much darker than it is when applied.

Urban Decay Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color in Apocalypse ($19, sephora.com) – Saw this color swatched on several blogs and really loved how it looked on everyone who wore it. When I finally got to Sephora I swatched it on my hand and kept staring at it. I knew I must own it. It’s a deep plum, but I typically use the Lisa Eldridge method of dabbing it on with my fingers, then rubbing it in like a stain. It looks matte this way, but does look glossy when applied normally.

Clinique Almost Lipstick in Black Honey ($15, clinique.com) – This is considered a cult favorite, and now I know why. Love this. LOVE it. It’s moisturizing and gives just a slight hint of plum on the lips. It looks really nice over top of the other colors I’ve mentioned above, too. Since it’s sheer, it works with your natural lip color. It’s a good introduction to a plum lip.

Revlon Just Bitten in Crave ($6.74, amazon.com) – I’ve been addicted to lipstains lately. You can get two completely different looks with them – matte when applied alone or shiny with gloss on top. Actually, depending on what color of gloss you use, you can get several different looks – shimmery, glittery, a hint of color to depend or lighten it. I just recently picked this one up, and already love it. It’s more of a bright plum than a deep one. Plus, it has a lip balm on the end so you only have to carry one product with you for touch-ups.

Dark lip colors like this can really make you look a little goth if you don’t wear enough blush. Lisa Eldridge suggests applying some blush, and then retouching after you apply your lip color. And we always do what Lisa says – she’s a makeup genius.

What plum lip products are you loving?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

