Tried It Tuesday – Urban Decay Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color

7 Feb

This week’s Tried It Tuesday is brought to you by Pants.

Urban Decay Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color in Apocalypse ($18, Sephora exclusive)

Sephora describes this color as “deep plum,” and I love me a deep plum lip color. I saw several blogs swatch and review this color, and when I got a chance to go to Sephora, I made sure to check it out. I tested it on the back of my hand and kept staring at it, and finally decided, “I’m doin’ it! I’m getting it!”

This photo doesn’t do the color any justice. You can apply it straight to your lips for a dark, dramatic look. However, I like to apply the pencil to my finger tips, then pat the color onto my lips for a less dramatic look. It gives a nice hint of plum, and is suitable for day time.

When applied as it’s intended, it does give a glossy look and isn’t drying. But when I pat it on, it looks slightly matte. I like to pair it with a gloss on top, specifically Lancome Juicy Tube Jelly in Magic Spell (“a sheer pinky-rose with opalescent flecks)”.

I’ve been wearing this around the house a lot, mostly because I haven’t really left my house since I bought it. But I’m very excited to wear it when I go out!

The one downside is that you have to sharpen this, which means that I’ll lose some of the product during the process. I really think they should make these retractable like the Tarte LipSurgence pencils.

I give Urban Decay Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color in Apocalypse 4 out of 5 sparkles.

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

