Chanel, MAC and Sephora, oh my!

2 Feb

I think we’ve complained here several times about the lack of high-end makeup retailers in our town. The mall has Lancome, Clinique and Estee Lauder counters, and a new boutique in town has started carrying Stila and Butter London, but we are in dire need of a Sephora and/or Ulta. Oh, and we’ll take a Macy’s with a MAC and Chanel counter, too, while you’re at it.

So Pants has been wanting to go to Pittsburgh for a few weeks now to find a particular lip gloss and to get some tinted moisturizer samples. Red wanted to go to a Chanel counter and try out a couple of their foundations, so we planned a trip, and headed up to the Ross Park Mall yesterday evening.

We both had lists, but our first stop was Chanel in Macy’s.

Red has been watching many of Lisa Eldridge’s videos on YouTube lately. Some of Lisa’s favorite foundations are from Chanel, so Red has been wanting to check them out. During her research, she discovered that Chanel Vitalumiere Aqua is similar in texture to Pants’ beloved discontinued Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte. So then Pants started watching video reviews too, and decided she wanted to look into it, as well.

We thought we were just going to figure out our colors and get samples. Nope. We both bought it, and we’re both the same shade, yay!

Since Pittsburgh and all of its makeup goodness is about an hour and a half away, we both prepared lists of everything we wanted to look for during our trip. We’ll share the rest of our goodies with you.

Pants

Our foundation color was out of stock, but you can see the super cute little sample on the bottom left corner there.

For Christmas 2010, I got a set of MAC lip glosses, and my favorite color from the set, Fab Fun, was limited edition. This crushed my soul, but by reading Temptalia, I found out there are a couple other similar shades: Morning Glory Lustreglass and Like Venus Dazzleglass. I wanted to compare them in person to decide which one I really wanted. It turned out Morning Glory won – it had smaller glitter, and looks slightly more pink on the lips. This was the main reason to go on the trip for me.

At the MAC counter, I also picked up a backup Eye Brows in Lingering. I tried out a Maybelline eyebrow pencil, but it’s only .001 oz. worth of product for $7, while MAC’s is $15 for .003 oz. MAC wins.

For Sephora, I had a long list of things I wanted to look at in person, but not necessarily buy. I guess I wanted to inspect them to decide if they needed to be added to my ever-growing wishlist. One of those things was Jack Black Intense Therapy Lip Balm. Which as you can see, I ended up getting in Vanilla & Lavender. The smell reminds me slightly of Vicks VapoRub, but it’s not gross. So far, I really like it. But I did just get it last night.

I’ve also been eying the Urban Decay Super-Saturated High Gloss Lip Color in Apocalypse. I’ve been loving dark lip colors later, and had to have this. Today, I wore it like a stain (thanks for the tip, Lisa Eldridge!) by just patting the color on my lips with my finger. This one is going to be a favorite, I can tell.

I also ended up with the Harajuku Lovers “G” to Go. G is one of my top three favorite fragrances ever, so of course, it’s been discontinued. It’s so coconut-y and amazing. This was on clearance, so I couldn’t resist.

Red:

While at the MAC counter I picked up  a Cremesheen Lipstick in Fanfare. It is such an amazing shade of pink. I really wanted it after reading that it pairs perfectly with Boots No. 7 lip liner in 20 Nude. I also picked up another Eye Kohl pencil in Smolder. It’s my favorite and I was running low. Must. Not. Run. Out.

At Sephora I really wanted to check out the NARS blush in Luster. Lauren Conrad’s makeup artist, Amy Nadine, may have mentioned that this is a blush she uses often on Lauren and I may have immediately added it to my list. It’s funny because it’s one that I never would have checked out on my own. It didn’t look super exciting, but when I swatched it I was pleasantly surprised at how pretty it was. I bought it and wore it today. So far I love it.

I have been wanting a cream eye shadow. Lisa Eldridge has several videos using them, and they are just so quick and effortless. I opted for Benefit’s Creasless Cream Shadow/Liner in Birthday Suit. It’s a really pretty shimmery taupe brown. I wore it today and was very pleased with it thus far.

Keep your eyes peeled. We will definitely be featuring some of these products in our Tried it Tuesday feature once we have a chance to really try them out.

Tell us, have you made any fun purchases recently?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

