Best of 2011 – Eye Products

11 Jan

We decided to pick out our favorite products we used in 2011. Instead of having one crazy long post with a ba-jillion items, we decided to cut it down by category so that we can maybe focus a little more on our super duper favies.

Keep in mind, these products weren’t necessarily released in 2011 – they were products we used in 2011 and we loved.

For this edition, we’re going to pick out or favorite eye products.

 

Some of our favorite products. Please excuse the terrible lighting and background. It was not so sunny in Pantsville today.

Eye Makeup

Single Shadow

  • RedMAC Woodwinked – This is an amazing shimmery gold color. I love it and wear it a lot. It looks great of course with browns, but it also looks amazing with grey shades.
  • PantsUrban Decay Toasted – So I honestly don’t buy single shadows any more, which made it really hard to choose. I have bought some Inglot shadows, but the one I would choose I just got for Christmas, so it doesn’t seem fair to choose it. So I went through my palettes to find which colors I use the most, and Toasted is definitely one of them. It’s a metallic brown, but with a pinky hint to it. This color is creamy and stays on all day, with the help of primer.

Eyeshadow Palette

  • RedUrban Decay Naked Palette – I turn to this palette over and over and over again. The colors are gorgeous which make for some amazing looks. It has everything you need which also makes it great for traveling.
  • PantsToo Faced Naked Eye Collection – This was my go-to summer palette. I loved wearing the gray shades for a nice every day look, but it was easy to switch to a going out look with the darker colors in the palette. I keep going back to it for the highlight colors and grays.
Eyeliner (Liquid/Gel/Pencil)

Pants

Mascara
  • RedAlmay Get Up and Grow Mascara –  This mascara goes on amazingly. I love it because you can add many coats and it builds up nicely without clumping.
  • PantsTarina Tarantino Fleur de Lash – This is the softest mascara I’ve ever used. I just want to keep touching my lashes when I wear it. Because it’s so soft, there’s no issues with flaking. This definitely adds length and nice volume to my lashes. It doesn’t clump either – my lashes look separated and fab-u-lous.
Eyeshadow Primer
  • RedMAC Paint Pot in Painterly – I use the this primer everyday. It makes my shadow last forever without creasing. I cannot go a day without it. I think I’d go into withdrawal if I did.
  • PantsUrban Decay Primer Potion in Eden – Love this matte finish, and it corrects any redness in my eye area. I started using UD’s primer potion a couple years ago, and I haven’t gone without it since.
Brow Powder/Pencil
  • RedSmashbox Brow Tech – This comes with two shades and a wax. It’s great for filling in the brows and making them stay.
  • PantsAnastasia Beauty Express – I have this in brunette, and I love the brush, wax and lighter powder. I don’t use the stencils, but it’s easy to fill in my brows with the products included.

Glitter/Pigment

Tools

Eyelash Curler

  • Rede.l.f. Cosmetics Eyelash Curler – I bought this in a pinch and it works great. Not going to lie though, I would really like a new one. I have my eye on the one Pants mentioned below.
  • PantsTarte Picture Perfect Eyelash Curler – Although I just recently purchased this, it’s definitely the BEST eyelash curler out of the five eyelash curlers I’ve tried this year. It curls my lashes so easily.


Brushes

  • RedSigma Make Me Crazy 12-brush kit – I’ve used many other brushes, but once I got these I haven’t gone back. Quality brushes really do make all the difference in the world.
  • PantsSigma Make Me Cool 12-brush kit – I honestly haven’t used any other eye brushes since I got this set for my birthday in September. Yes, they’re pricey, but good brushes make a difference and if you take care of them, they’ll last a long time. These are all soft, and I’ve had no issues with shedding.

What were you favorite eye products and tools of 2011?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

