Addicted to organization / Makeup collection

19 Oct

Hi. My name is Pants. And I’m addicted to organization. It’s kind of a sickness. It’s gotten really bad over the last couple of weeks.

My old storage system wasn’t working any more. That update was over a year ago, and my collection has grown, but I’ve also removed some of the extra/free gift items from my makeup area and now keep them in a bag in my linen closet.

It had gotten to the point where I was never/rarely using the items in my train case. I took my items that I use everyday (tinted moisturizer, powder, mascara, eyeshadow primer) out of the train case and put them all in the top drawer of my Sterilite storage unit, along with moisturizer, brush cleaner and my brushes.

I’m definitely an out-of-sight-out-of-mind person. So because I wasn’t seeing half of my makeup, I wasn’t using it. It was a pain to get anything out of the train case because everything was stacked on top of each other. I started thinking about options. I had another three-drawer Sterilite storage unit in the top of my closet holding office supplies that I never use. I took those items out, put them into another box, and used the Sterilite storage for my makeup. And the reorganization began.

I stacked the two storage units on top of one another, but then my makeup mirror was too high to use when sitting on the floor. I needed something that same height, but not necessarily the same width. I had no luck at Target, so I ended up getting a third container like the others (you can find them at Target, even though they’re out of stock online). I DID find one slightly taller, and about half the width at Walmart, but I didn’t like it, and am using it somewhere else now.

ANYWAY, let’s get to the storage. I’ll show you an overall look, then a view of each drawer. I’ll tell you what dividers/trays I’ve used inside of them, as well as mentioning what each drawer contains. Enjoy!

My storage is on the floor, as you can see. I like to sit facing natural light when I apply my makeup, so this setup works well for me. You can see my Conair mirror on top of my newest storage addition. I like that it lights up, but it’s not the best lighting. I only use it as a last resort when it’s dark out.

On top of the other two storage units is the Tarte Starlet Makeup Vanity, my newest makeup addition purchased with a birthday gift card! The small Itso Polka Dot Tapered Fabric Bin from Target contains the following items:

  • Sigma Make Me Cool brush set
  • brush cleaner
  • wash cloth for brush cleaning
  • extra empty makeup bag
  • mini Sephora bag filled with random items, like batteries for my heated eyelash curler
  • pencil case that used to hold my brushes. (I’m still unsure about my brush storage situation)

Now let’s go inside the drawers!

This is the top drawer of the unit on the left.

These Rubbermaid drawer organizers came from Walmart. They were with the kitchen storage, more specifically silverware trays. I’m not sure how I feel about them. They just barely fit, there’s space behind them that I’m not utilizing, and they aren’t very visually appealing. Currently, the tools are divided by eyes, face then cheeks. I’m not sure it it’ll stay this way.

This drawer currently contains random items, such as my Sally Hansen nail strips (confession – when they were stored with my nail polishes, I had no idea how many I had), a mirror and the packages from my Inglot shadows so I can remember the color names. I imagine this will eventually hold larger palettes as my collection grows.

This is my back-ups drawer. I recently found those Precision Tips Q-tips, yay! Extra full-size mascaras, travel makeup removers, Clinique moisturizer, lip balms, eyelash curler and a foundation that I can’t decide if I like or not. This drawer isn’t used much, but it’s nice to have those things there in one place.

Now onto the two stacked storage units!

The tray in this is a Room Essentials 6 Compartment Drawer Organizer from Target. It was originally purchased for another drawer, but didn’t work. I was going to return it, but never got around to it. It ended up working perfectly for this drawer! (This tray can be found with the storage containers/Sterilite drawers).

The top two sections on the left contain cream shadows/liners, then the bottom section has my Urban Decay shadows and my one MAC single shadow (Jealousy Wakes, what what?!). All of the palettes in the middle, except for the bottom two, were free gifts with purchases (Mostly Lancome, some Clinique, and various others). The top right section has eyeliners and a sharpener, and the bottom section has some various smaller high end shadows. And my two Hello Kitty MAC palettes, eeeee!

Eyeshadow palette drawer number 1. I’ve got four of my Urban Decay palettes (the Deluxe Shadow and Black Palette are hiding under the Naked Palette and Rollergirl palette), some Kat Von D, Pop Beauty, Stila, Hello Kitty for Sephora, Bare Escentuals and a couple Tarina Tarantino palettes hiding in the top. If you have any questions about any of these, feel free to leave a comment!

Eyeshadow palettes drawer number 2! There’s the Urban Decay Book of Shadows Vol. III and their 15th Anniversary Palette, and three of my absolute favorites by Too Faced: Natural Eye, Naked Eye and Romantic Eye. On the right side is the Too Faced Glamour Dusts in Nude Beam and Glampire. LOVES! My first and only Inglot palette is in there, as well as the Too Faced Sephora 500-point gift from a few months ago. Don’t worry, I still have plenty of room for the Too Faced Matte Eye palette and more Inglot. 🙂

Lip drawer! I didn’t think I had many lip products, but now that they’re all together, it feels like a ton. It’s easier to find what I need with them all in one place and organized. I’ve use two of the Room Essentials 3-compartment drawer organizer from Target, found in the same section as the previous organizer. The top of the drawer has a couple lip palettes, one by Sephora and one by Clinique, and some various lip stains by Stila. The middle tray is all glosses divided by color: light, clear and gold in the left, pink in the middle, and reds and berries in the right. The bottom tray contains my SoftLips collection – I used to love SoftLips but we’re broken up because they started to dry my lips out. This is what happens when they sell two different flavors in a two-pack… Hoarding. Middle section is free gift with purchase lipsticks, mostly Lancome, some Clinique, and some Estee Lauder. The section on the right contains my MAC lip glosses and a few lipsticks that I’ve bought.

Cheeks and samples drawer. The top left corner has most of my blushes, highlighters and bronzers. To the right of that is a bunch of larger samples. In the Sephora zippered bag are all my fragrance samples. I’ve got another one of those Room Essentials three-compartment organizers on the bottom. In the left section is travel-size samples, the middle is all sample mascaras, and the right section contains small one-time use samples.

Everyday items! Inside this is the Itso Divided Tray from Target. It’s almost too big to fit in here. This can be found with all the other Itso organization stuff – the boxes/shelves – the really colorful storage things. I tried to keep items I use almost everyday in this drawer. It’s also the bottom drawer because I keep it open the entire time I’m applying my makeup. In this I have Q-tips, makeup remover sticks, Benefit concealer kit, mascaras and primers, foundations, tinted moisturizer, eyebrow pencils and kit, setting powders and my FAVORITE blushes. I’ve got my three Tarte Amazonian Clay blushes and highlighter that I use most days in this drawer, as well as my Benefit SugarBomb blush. The bottom right section contains items I use every. single. day. Including my hair clip to pin back my bangs.

I realize this was a lot of information and pictures, and I appreciate it if you’ve read this far. I’m really nerdy about organization, and it makes me happy to be able to SEE all my stuff and know that everything has its place. I’m still trying to decide what to do with my brushes… I think just getting a different divider/tray might make a huge difference.

If you have any questions about anything in here, or any suggestions, please comment below!

xo,

Pants

4 Responses to “Addicted to organization / Makeup collection”

  1. Kendra October 24, 2011 at 11:06 pm #

    Wow. Just…wow. My bathroom looks like a hurricane went through it. Maybe I’ll finally get inspired by this!

    • Pants October 25, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

      Haha, well I hope it helps! I know it’s a little crazy, but organizing and cleaning things out helps me relieve stress. I’m a very everything-has-it’s-place person. I blame my dad, who will follow me around with my drink if I leave it in one room and go into another.

  2. Jessica Bridges (@originalslicey) October 25, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    I just found your blog today and this is a HUGE help! I’m miserable with organization and my bathroom is always a mess. I end up buying more and more makeup that I don’t need because I can’t find what I already have. I absolutely need to bite the bullet and buy some things to organize my space.

    I’m curious about how you deal with makeup that you take with you during the day for touchups. Do you have a makeup bag with your favorites or what you use during the day, perhaps?

    • Pants October 25, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

      Yay, I’m glad my craziness could help! I do have a small cosmetic bag I keep in my everyday purse and in it I always keep a lip balm, oil blotting sheets, concealer and a couple of my favorite lip glosses. I used to have like 8 lip products in there, and it was ridiculous, so I cleaned them out. If I’m wearing a specific lip color that day, I’ll throw it in there too. I typically don’t bother my eye makeup once I’ve left the house. Luckily, with the use of primers, it holds up pretty well.

Leave a Reply

