First Impression – Urban Decay 15-Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection

15 Jul

Guess what came in the mail today???

Yup, it’s the Urban Decay 15-Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection! This palette went on sale Tuesday morning, and was sold out by Tuesday evening. Luckily, Pants got her grubby little hands on one. Sephora and Ulta are both supposed to receive this palette sometime soon.

Here are Pants’ first impressions:

All of the reviews I’ve seen have failed to mention that this comes in a fuzzy purple box, as picture below.

The box keeps the palette safe and will also be nice to store things in. It’s also great at collecting cat hair.

The case is a gunmetal color and I had it covered in fingerprints pretty much immediately. This may not bother some people, but if you’re anal retentive like me, it’ll probably drive you nuts. I’ve already wiped away the fingerprints at least three times. However, it’s super pretty and I love the cut outs on the side, as well as the jeweled UD on the lid.

Now onto the inside….

You can’t see in this photo, but in the bottom right corner there’s a little hole so that you can take the tray out and use the box to store things in under the shadows.

There are 15 new colors, the first column is light neutrals, bright rainbow colors in the middle column, and then dark neutrals in the last column. All shadows are shimmery or metallic, except for Blackout, which is a matte black. These are some of the prettiest colors I’ve seen in a palette, and it’s a great combination with all the neutrals and fun colors in the middle. Junk Show and Deep End may be my favorites. I didn’t get a chance to use this today because the mail didn’t arrive until after 3. But tomorrow, you better believe I’m going to use it!

What do you think?

xo, 

Red & Pants

2 Responses to “First Impression – Urban Decay 15-Year Anniversary Eyeshadow Collection”

  1. kristie July 27, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

    The palette is really tempting! I have seen only good reviews on it but a few did say the packaging was a pain? Thanks for the beautiful images. I can’t wait to check this out in person.

    • Pants July 28, 2011 at 12:08 am #

      I haven’t had any issues with the packaging. But then again, I haven’t traveled with it, and I probably wouldn’t travel with it for fear of it getting broken. It’s a shame because I really love the colors, and it would be a good mix to travel with because you wouldn’t need anything else.

Leave a Reply

