Reader question: What’s the best mascara you’ve ever used, and why?

15 Jun

This week on our Facebook page, our lovely reader Natalie asked us what’s the best mascara we’ve ever used, and why?

Mascara is a weird thing. Our favorites tend to shift all the time. One month we may love one kind, then we might try another and it’ll be our favorite for three months, then we’ll never use it again. Also, sometimes it’s possible to have more than one favorite at a time.

Here’s our thoughts on some mascaras!

Pants

I currently have about three favorite mascaras. I have a few others that I rank up there as  “old faithfuls” in case I end up one day hating my favorites. You know what I’m talking about.

1 – Tarina Tarantino Fleur de Lash ($19, Sephora or $29.96 for two at QVC) – This is the softest mascara I’ve ever used in my entire life. I first wanted to try this after seeing Tarina on QVC, and she talked about how soft it was and how you can layer it without clumping – totally true. If you are wearing this and touch your lashes, you wouldn’t think you have mascara on, but when you look you’ll see that your lashes are super long with lots of volume. I’ve never had any problems with this smudging either. Recently it was on sale for $10 each at Sephora, and you better believe I stocked up. I don’t like to buy high end mascaras because drug store brands typically work as well, but $10 was a bargain.

2 – Buxom Lash ($19, Sephora) – I’ve only had a sample size of this, and I LOVED how it made my lashes look. They were super duper thick and long. I never had any smudging or clumping issues. The one downside to it is the price – I don’t really want to pay $20 for a mascara that I’ll only use about three months. However, if I could get it cheaper or free, I’d stock up like I did with the Tarina Tarantino.

3 – L’Oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator in Black Crystals (~$10 at Drugstores/Target/Walmart) You know I love me some sparkle. The mascara by itself in this product is kinda meh, but it’s great when paired when the sparkle end. It adds a lot of length to my lashes, with just a hint of sparkle. I can see where this could get clumpy, so I use the sparkles with a light hand. If you touch your eyes a lot, it’ll flake, but what mascara won’t? I didn’t have any issues with smudging.

Runner-ups:

  • Lacome Definicils (~$25) – Price is the downside, however I get a free sample when I buy my tinted moisturizer, so I’m stocked up.
  • Covergirl LashBlast Luxe Mascara in Black Emerald(~$6) – Used this for months. Love the big wand, love that it’s green and love that it has some shimmer. Stopped using it because I wanted to try a black mascara for a while, but I still heart it.
Thumbs down:
  • Benefit BADgal lash mascara ($19, Benefitcosmetics.com) – Got a mini version as a 100 point at Sephora. While it looked good when applied, by the end of the day it looked like I didn’t even put on mascara.
  • Smashbox Lash DNA ($19, Smashbox.com) – Maybe I got a dud, but it looked like I didn’t even apply any mascara when I used this. I immediately gave up and used another kind.
  • Laura Mercier Long Lash Mascara ($24, Lauramercier.com) – I had high expectations for this because Laura Mercier’s products are supposed to be amazing. It was just kinda average. I would rather spend $6 on a drugstore mascara that works just as well.
  • Hard Candy Curl Up & Dye (~$4.60, Walmart) – This stuff is balls. It’s too wet so it clumps, it doesn’t curl and the colors aren’t bright enough. I tried it in Late Night (teal) and Venus (purple), and both were terrible with little color pay off.

Red

I currently have two favorite mascaras. Many others have fallen into the mascara pit of despair.

1 – Maybelline Lash Stiletto Waterproof Ultimate Length Mascara – Very Black ($7, Target) – I was wanting to try a waterproof mascara for the summer and had heard good things about this one. It is amazing! I plan on getting the non-waterproof version very soon. It separates your lashes amazingly well. It also makes them look extremely long. It doesn’t get clumpy or gloppy on the wand or on the lashes. Removal is extremely easy and it doesn’t get black flakey stuff everywhere.

2 – L’Oreal Voluminous Million Lashes – Carbon Black ($9, Walgreens) – After buying my first tube of this mascara,  I decided I liked it but didn’t think it was an all time favorite. Now I’m on my fourth tube and can definitely say that this is a favorite. I love the wand and formula of this mascara. I love how my lashes look so incredibly long when I use this.

Runner-ups:

  • L’Oreal Double Extend Eye Illuminator in Black Crystals (~$10 at Drugstores/Target/Walmart) – Pants mentioned this mascara in her favorites. I do like this, but I tend to use it more on special occasions.
What are your favorite mascaras, and why?

xo, 

Red & Pants

2 Responses to “Reader question: What’s the best mascara you’ve ever used, and why?”

  1. Tracy June 15, 2011 at 11:22 pm #

    My favorite is Fresh Supernova. It doesn’t flake and get in my eyes by the end of the day (like most mascaras do to me) and it doesn’t smudge or run or anything.

  2. Plum June 16, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    I never loved a mascara before Buxom Lash came into my life. My favorite part is the large barrel polymer brush. To die for. On the flipside, I got some Smashbox mascara with my hazel eyes kit which included a comb applicator (emphasis: not round). I tried it a few times to see if it was a technique issue, but it was a hot mess each time. IMO, the applicator is a huge factor in mascara performance.

Leave a Reply

