May MVPs

2 Jun

Another month has ended, so that means another list of our favorite products for the month. Here are the products we just couldn’t put down in May.

Pants:

  • Purr by Katy Perry Fragrance Gift Set, ($45, Buckle)

We both kept hearing other bloggers go on and on about this perfume, and we wanted to smell it… But like everything else, we couldn’t find it around here. According to Katy Perry Beauty, this perfume is only available at Nordstrom’s, Dillard’s, Ulta and Buckle. All of these stores are at least an hour and a half drive away. And we didn’t want to blindly order it – what if we didn’t like the smell? I ended up going to visit my family in Charleston, and luckily there’s a Buckle at the Charleston Town Center. The test bottle was broken, so the perfume dribbled out onto my arm, and I kept smelling it while we checked out other stores. I loved it! It’s a light fruity smell. It’s hard to describe, and I usually say I smell like a combination of a firework and a teenage dream, with a hint of cherry Chapstick. But here’s the official description: “Purr by Katy Perry opens with a fresh citrus accord featuring peach nectar and forbidden apple with green bamboo.  Supporting notes include a delicate bouquet of jasmine blossom, pink freesia and Bulgarian rose, balanced by vanilla orchid, white amber, creamy sandalwood and musk. ” I have worn the perfume every day this month, and I strongly suggest purchasing the gift set – it comes with a 1.7 fl oz spray fragrance, glittery lotion and body wash for $45, the same cost of the spray fragrance alone.

Surprisingly, I didn’t have a green eyeliner in my collection. Green is my favorite color – how did I not have one?! This was recently brought to my attention, so I’ve been on the hunt for the perfect green eyeliner. After NYX crushed our dreams, I decided to go all out and order this sparkly, liquid waterproof liner. I. Love. It. It’s amazeballs. It doesn’t smudge, and looks freshly applied all day. If you want a bright green liner, this is the way to go.

I started using the Clean & Clear Oil Absorbing Sheets in high school. They’ve always worked well, but I’ve really needed them the last month. My skin, especially my t-zone, has been really oily lately. I think I’ve pinpointed the problem to the Neutrogena Makeup Remover Cleansing Towelettes – I bought them because I’m lazy and thought it would be quicker to take off my makeup at night with them. Well, I liked how they worked, and they really got all my eye makeup off, BUT I turned into a greasy little pig. It looked like I slept face down in bacon, and I would look oily all day, no matter if I used powder or these oil absorbing sheets. Since I’ve went back to my old makeup remover, I’ve noticed my skin has been less oily, and I’ve been reaching for this product less often. I discovered this week that Target has their own version of this product in the Up&Up brand, and it comes with 20 more sheets and is less expensive. I carry a pack in my purse, in my makeup bag and in my bathroom.

Red:

  • Maybelline Waterproof Stileto Lash – Very Black, ($7, Target)
I’m always game for trying a new mascara. I’ve heard  this mascara mentioned a few times by YouTube beauty gurus and decided to try it out. Obviously I love it, because I’ve not been able to put it down. This heat has been horrendous lately, and it stays put which is a super bonus!
I have not been able to put this lip gloss down since I bought it. It’s a perfect shimmery pink and is great for day to day wear. It also looks lovely layering over lip glosses as well.
I saw this eye pencil used in a makeup tutorial and could not stop thinking about. So I bought it not long after.  Since NYX has crushed my dreams, I’ve been turning to this pencil instead. It’s so shimmery and gorgeous. It’s a little creamy which is perfect for the summer.

Yet another thing that I have not put down since I’ve purchased it. I used to be the queen of black liner on my waterline, but not anymore. I’ve been tight-lining my lower lash-line and it makes my eyes look so big! I can’t quit using it, and would love to try out their other colors.

Tell us, what are your favorites this month?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

