Poll Results – How did you learn to apply makeup?

9 May

Not surprisingly, self-taught came out on top in this week’s poll.

Red: I learned how to do my makeups all by my lonesome. Back in the day, I read a million teen magazines and would try out any recommended looks and tips. In college, I religiously watched the Style Channel for makeup guidance and now I turn to YouTube gurus. Really the best way to learn is from trial and error. You’ll find what works for you and what doesn’t. One of my favorite things to do with my free time is to play with my makeup.

Pants: I was self-taught too, which is probably why I didn’t wear makeup for such a long time. I felt like I looked so different when I wore it, and that different must be bad because I didn’t know what I was doing.  It’s best to learn and play around on your own, because there aren’t set rules in makeup – do what you like and looks good.

When I started wearing makeup, I played with colored eyeshadows, and took some tips from Carmindy of “What Not to Wear.” From her, I learned to use an angled liner brush (which broke this morning after six years, RIP) and that tinted moisturizer is amazeballs. Like Red, I now learn a lot of techniques from YouTube and play around.

Again, like Red, I would read all the teen magazines and find out what fun new makeup trends were in  – glitter gel was a big one, and it took me FOREVER to find it. I also had a really dark purple lipstick that I saw an ad for and decided that I had to own it. I don’t know where I planned to wear it, because I never wore it out. Thank goodness for the Internets, because now I can find all those fun new items online and buy them!

Have any fun stories about how you learned to apply makeup?!

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

