Prom A Lomma Ding Dong

4 May

Prom season is upon us and all of the dresses are making us total jelly beans that you have to be in high school to attend. Pu-shaw! If we could, we’d totally go to prom. Here are our makeup and dress picks.

Red:

When I went to prom I wore a floor length pale lime green dress with an empire waste. The top bodice had some sort of woven detail work all over it. I really did like my dress.  I wore my hair in a French twist and let  curls cascade down from the top of the twist.  Where the hair was twisted I inserted some hair cones that was covered in rhinestones. It looked pretty awesome if I do say so myself.  As I’m reminiscing about what I wore, for the life of me I cannot remember what I did makeup wise.

If I were to go now I would wear this One Shoulder Glitter Chiffon Tiered Ball Gown by Jessica Simpson.


With this dress I would keep my hair down with big loose waves.  I would take advantage of this opportunity to wear an amazing fascinator in my hair.

For my makeup  I would want to do a neutral eye with a pop of purple eyeliner.  Stila’s Waterproof Liquid Eyeliner in Royal would be perfect for this.

I want to keep it simple on the cheeks and do a light peachy color. NARS blush in Deep Throat would be a great choice for this.

A shiny nude lip will be the icing on the cake with this look. I think Sephora’s Ultra Shine Lipgloss in Shiny Perfect Nude will be the perfect finish for this look.

Pants:

I didn’t like prom in high school. Shopping for prom dresses with my parents was super stressful. So much so that it was one of the factors that made me decide that I never wanted to have a wedding. (In fact, I encourage everyone to elope. I’m  terrible person.) I can’t imagine getting my parents to spend hundreds of dollars on a dress I’d wear once when I couldn’t get them to spend over $60 for a prom dress.

For my junior prom I ended up with a knee-length fuchsia dress that was covered in gold glitter. The skirt was cut into V-shaped layers. I wore these hideous platform black mary janes from Hot Topic. My hair was crimped, which made it HUGE! I remember since there was gold on the dress, I really really really wanted gold eyeliner. Luckily, Avon just happened to have some at the time. But it wasn’t pretty metallic gold, it was just a weird yellow. I’m sure I had on some sort of eyeshadow too, along with my mom’s mascara and a bright fuchsia lipstick from Avon (that I still have, actually).

Here’s a picture! Also, just realized that my junior prom was ten years ago this year. Great, now I feel ancient. (This is a photo of a photo, so sorry for the terrible quality.)

Now that you’ve finished laughing at me, I’ll discuss what I would wear in case I would happen to crash a prom this year.

Now for my current prom look, I definitely took this too seriously. I looked at tons of dresses, trying to find the perfect one. I don’t like strapless, and I don’t like long dresses, and I wanted green. Apparently all short dresses are strapless, which is crap! Some of us short girls need straps, dress makers!

Anyway, I decided to go with this super cute Betsey Johnson dress. If I had a spare $400 laying around, I would buy this right now. I don’t know where I’d wear it, but maybe I would crash a prom or five.

With this, I would go probably with a brown smokey eye using the Too Faced Natural Eye Palette. I would wear Heaven (creamy white) all over from lid to the brow, with Push-Up (shimmery medium brown) on the lid, and Erotica (dark brown with gold glitter) in the crease. I’d also smudge some of Erotica on the lower lash line, then line my eyes with Stila Sparkle Waterproof Liquid Eye Liner in Electric, a bright green. I would definitely line the bottom waterline with black. To add some highlights, I would use Benefit High Beam under the arches of my brows, and dot some of Too Faced’s Silk Teddy  (shimmery peach) in the inner corner of the eyes.

For the cheeks, I would want sparkle, so I would apply Nars Super Orgasm.

For lip color, I would probably go natural, and use Too Faced Glamour Gloss in Pillow Talk, a mauve shimmer.

As for my hair, I’d make Red curl the crap out of it and add in a gold headband or clips. Although I like her fascinator idea… I could get into that as well.

Now we’re pumped up. Anyone want to take a couple of girls to prom? We’re over 21, but we look like we’re still in high school! Don’t bother getting a hotel room for after – you’re not getting lucky.

xo, 

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

