Sulfate-free Shampoos

21 Apr

Today during some feather extension repairs, we were talking about shampoo. Apparently, a lot of shampoos have wax in them that leaves residue that weighs down your hair. Most shampoos also have “sodium lauryl sulfate,” which is typically the agent that makes shampoo foamy. It’s a cheap detergent and can be damaging to hair, which is why many hair stylists suggest sulfate-free shampoos.

We both have been looking into the sulfate-free haircare products recently. Here’s what we’re trying out:

Red:

L’Oreal Ever Pure Sulfate-Free Color Care System – The Moisture Shampoo is Rosemary Juniper and the Moisture Conditioner is Rosemary Mint. They both smell Ah-Mazing and they go nicely together. I started using the Color Care System at the recommendation of my hair stylist. She said that my highlights would last a lot longer with the sulfate-free shampoos and conditioners. I immediately left the salon and headed straight for Target to find this shampoo and I haven’t turned back since. The shampoo and conditioner never leaves my hair feeling dirty or heavy. It is always left looking super shiny and smelling lovely. Also, my highlights have indeed lasted longer with this shampoo and conditioner.

Pants:


Organix Nourishing Coconut Milk Shampoo – I found this one evening while browsing the shampoo aisle at Walmart. I’m almost out of my current shampoo, and wanted to change things up. I typically pick a shampoo based on smell, and when I saw coconut, I was pumped! If there’s an option to get anything coconut scented or flavored, that’s what I’ll choose. The fact that it was sulfate-free was a bonus. After buying this, I decided to read some reviews, which were very mixed. Some people said it really dried out their hair, and then I read something about how the ingredients aren’t organic at all and there’s something in it that causes cancer – but really, what doesn’t cause cancer? I’ve only used this a couple times so far, mostly because apparently not everyone loves coconut as much as I do and I don’t want my boyfriend to throw up on me if he smells my hair. I’ll do an update on this once I use it some more.

Tell us what shampoo do you love to use?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

