Poll Results – Where do you like to shop for makeup? / Haul!!!

28 Mar

On Friday we asked where you like to shop for makeup, and Sephora came in first place, followed by drugstores and Target in second place.

We love to buy makeup everywhere, we don’t discriminate. However, yesterday we had MAKEUPS SUNDAY! We, along with our friend Shanny, headed up to Pittsburgh, making a stop at South Hills Village for Macy’s, which has a MAC counter and carries Lush products, and then we headed up to Ulta!

We’ve been planning this trip for a while, saving up, making lists, plotting… And it was quite successful. Keep in mind, some of these products we just got for the first time, so we really can’t review them yet.

Here are our hauls!

Pants:

First stop was MAC.

I knew I needed a new Eye Brows in Lingering. I first bought one in September, and it lasted through January. I ran out of my new one Sunday morning, so this trip was perfectly timed. I guess I’ve gotten a little more heavy handed with it, but I love that eye brow pencil. It really makes a difference.

I also have been wanting to try a full-coverage foundation. I’ve been a tinted moisturizer user for years, and I love that there is SPF in it. Recently I found out that MAC has a few foundations with SPF in them, and I wanted to give them a try. I had to be color-matched, and I found out that I’m a NW15, which is the lightest neutral warm. I now know that I have a warm complexion because I have pink undertones. I decided to try out the Studio Fix Fluid with SPF 15. I loved the coverage it gave, and the girl at the counter told me it’s really good for combination skin. She also set the foundation with the Mineralize Skin Finish Natural in Light Medium. I’ve noticed lately that I’m shiny, and I went shine-free all day yesterday. I’m really excited to give these a try.

Next stop was Lush! We’ve never been before, but we’ve seen several Lush hauls on YouTube and wanted to check them out.

I only got a couple items to try out. Bath bombs are some of their most popular items, and I’m not a bath taker. Possibly because I don’t like to clean my bath tub, and also because I’m not the type of person who just likes to sit around in water. I’m not a swimmer either. But anyway, the Vanilla Fountain Bath Bomb smelled too good to pass up. The ladies who worked there were sooooo helpful, and told me I could cut the bath bomb in two and use it twice. (they also gave us those two little free samples there in Sweetie Pie and Turkish Delight!) I thought about trying it tonight since I’m sick, but I don’t want to waste it since I can’t smell anything right now.

I also decided to try out a massage bar in Heavanilli. You rub this in your hands to heat it up, and it softens into a lotion. I also bought a tin to keep the massage bar it. They tend to get melty if you keep them in the bathroom during a shower.

Next stop was Sephora!

I’ve been sitting on a Sephora gift card for months. I got it from my credit card rewards program. I finally decided I wanted to try out another one of the Too Faced palettes since I love the Romantic Eye Collection so much. However, I wanted to see them in person to make a decision. The Natural Eye palette had more shimmers and darker colors. Also, I decided to try out Too Faced’s Shadow Insurance in Candlelight. I love UD’s Primer Potion in Sin, but so much goes unused because of the shape of the bottle. I love how shimmery it was when I tested it on my hands. Also, I got a Smashbox 500-point perk for free! It came with eyeliner, a shadow trio, eye primer and mascara. Can’t wait to try it!

Last stop was Ulta!

While perusing the aisles, I spotted a huge table of black nail polish. I looked closer, noticed it was OPI Shattered and made a beeline for it! I grabbed one for me and Red, and showed Shanny, who also picked one up. I’m so excited to give this a try.

I also wanted to find a foundation brush to apply my new MAC foundation. Red suggested the Ecotools brand. It looks pretty well-made, but I haven’t got to try it out yet, womp womp!

The only thing on my list for Ulta was a NYX Jumbo Pencil in Cottage Cheese. I picked that up, and Rocky Mountain Green. I just recently realized I don’t have a green eyeliner, and had to fix that immediately.

The last item I picked up was a EOS Lip Balm in Honeysuckle Honeydew. I recently bought the Summer Fruit and loved it, but I left it on my desk at work over the weekend.

Hopefully within a few weeks I’ll be able to start reviewing a few of these items. I’m hoping my cold is gone tomorrow so that I can start using them!

Red:

As mentioned above we headed to MAC first and by headed I mean ran full speed through the store.

I had a very LARGE list for MAC, however I didn’t realize that you can only purchase palette refills at MAC stores and online. From there my list greatly decreased, but no worries there were still things to buy. I got their Lipglass in Nymphette.  It’s a sunny golden pink which is just perfect for spring and summer. I wore it today and absolutely love it.

I also got a shadow in Beauty Marked. It was one that I didn’t necessarily want in my palettes, but definitely one that I needed for my collection. It’s an absolutely gorgeous black/red color with sparkle.

Next was Lush. I was super excited to go here after watching a million hauls on You-Tube.

I ended up getting two massage bars. When you purchase two you get a tin for free. Score! I got the Each Peach (and Two’s a Pair) bar. Despite peach in the name it is a very citrusy cent. I’m hoping it will help wake me up in the mornings. I also go the Heavanilli bar. It is such a lovely vanilla scent. I can’t wait try both of these bars out.

I like Pants also got the Turkish Delight and Sweetie Pie samples. The Lush gals really hooked us up.  The next time I go here, or maybe I’ll order some online I want to get their Honey I Washed the Kids Soap. If you like honey, this stuff is for you. It smells awesome.

At Sephora, I didn’t really have much on my list.  Fabulous Doug, who worked there, showed me some fun shimmery powder by Makeup Forever.  What I really wanted was the new Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Blush by Tarte. I got a pretty plumy rose color called Blushing Bride. It even has a little shimmer to it! This blush is supposed to be amazing according to several videos I watched on You-Tube.  I tried it out today, but have yet to make a decision about it yet. I will definitely keep you posted.

I had several beauty points saved up and was able to get the Smashbox Perfectly Polished Lids gift like Pants. I’m excited to try it out!

The main thing I wanted at Ulta were the NYX Jumbo Eye Pencils. I absolutely love them and just needed more colors. MORE! I got them in Rust, Yogurt, French Fried, and Dark Brown.  I also replaced a NYX lipstick in Ceto. I have really dug into this lipstick and it got a little messy near the end. It was definitely time for a replacement.

I can’t believe Ulta actually had OPI’s Black Shatter nail polish.  I was so excited to get my grubby little paws on it. I’m so glad that Pants spotted it.

I picked up the EOS lip balm in Sweet Mint. I have their other scents and decided I needed to finish my collection.

I think it is safe to say that this was a successful shopping trip.  Look for reviews of some of these products soon.

Tell us, have you purchased anything fun recently.

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

