Review: Sally Hansen Salon Effects

2 Feb

A week or two ago we spotted ads in some magazines for the Sally Hansen Salon Effects Real Nail Polish Strips. We immediately started looking everywhere – Walmart, Target, Kroger. Red finally spotted them at Walmart and picked up a set for her and for Pants.

We both tried out 350 Misbehaved first – a champagne sparkle with black diamond/fishnet overlay. It’s a good everyday look so we didn’t have to save them for special occasions (Red is saving the black lace for Valentine’s Day, and Pants is saving the multicolor glitter – Frock Star  – for the Lady Gaga concert later this month).

Here’s what you get in a set: 16 nail polish strips in different sizes, a cuticle stick and a mini nail file/buffer.

They are ranging between $7 to $9 in price. The strips are SOOOOOO EASY to apply. First you clean your nails with polish remover, buff them, then go over once again with the nail polish remover. Then, you peel off a protective layer from the nail strip, then peel the polish off the backing strip. Next, you place the strip on your nail, press it down, and stretch the strip over the edge. Last, you file off the excess polish. In less time than a professional manicure, you get nails that look professionally done that are supposed to last up to 10 days.

You’ll want to place the strips over your nail before you peel them off the backing to see which size covers your nail the best.

Pants: These nail strips have lasted longer than any manicure I’ve had done or done myself. I’m so happy with the results. I hope these are permanent and more colors come out. Every time I drive past Walmart (which is twice a day because I have to pass it on the way to work), I consider stopping in to stock up. They were definitely picked over when I picked up my second set. I can’t wait to try out the Frock Star set to see if the glitter holds out as well. Fingers crossed! 5 out of 5 sparkles!

Day 2:

Sparkling in the sunlight!

Day 4:

A little peeling around the cuticles on the nails where I placed the strips too far down (middle and index finger). Still looks good though!

Red: These nail strips have lasted so long and really hold up to daily wear and tear.  I’m SO impressed with these amazing little things. I tried a similar product a few years ago and it was awful. These are definitely cheaper than a manicure or even a shellac manicure and last way longer. I want to buy a million more of these and like Pants I hope they stick around.  5 out of 5 sparkles!
Day 1:

Day 12:

Let us know what you think if you’ve tried these yet!

xo,

Red & Pants

2 Responses to “Review: Sally Hansen Salon Effects”

  1. Amanda B. February 3, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    How those do look cool! Thanks for the heads up, I’ll have to go my Walmart and try them out!

  2. Melissa February 4, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    I did finally buy these. They don’t work out quite as well for me. I happen to have substantially longer nails and these pucker on me alot. They look nice on my thumbs, but they are difficult to get flat on my longer nails.

Leave a Reply

