My lip gloss is poppin’

17 Nov

Lip gloss can be your best friend as the colder months start to suck all the moisture from your body. Nobody wants chapped lips, so let’s take a look at our favorite lip products.

Pants: I used to LOVE SoftLips. I carried my a french vanilla around in my pocket with me at all times and reapplied it like 300 times a day. And during Christmas I stocked up on the sugar cookie flavor too. I used it since my freshman year of high school, about 12 years ago (ouch!). But over the last couple years, I noticed my lips were still dry. I don’t know if the formula changed or what, but SoftLips starting making my lips chapped instead of moisturizing them. I didn’t want to give up on it, I loved the product so much, but for the last year I’ve been searching for a replacement.

One product I’ve really enjoyed is Blistex Lip Massage. You just need to use a tiny bit and the applicator has ridges on it that massage the lips. Unfortunately, I’ve lost my tube and I can’t find it anywhere to buy another one.
A close second is Carmex Moisture Plus Clear. It gives a little bit of shine, and has a nice smooth consistency – it feel more like SoftLips than a waxy chap stick. It’s not sticky and doesn’t dry out quickly.
I also have several go-to lip glosses that I always keep in my purse.
Left to right: Lancome Juicy Tubes Smoothie in Hallucination, Clinique Long Last Glosswear SPF 15 in Air Kiss, Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss in Slice of Heaven and Cherry Bomb.
  • Lancome Juicy Tubes Smoothie in Hallucination is a pinky neutral tan with a hint of gold glitter. Great neutral! This is a mini size that I got for Christmas one year in a large set of glosses. That’s the way to go with these – get a set of the minis to try out, and then if you really love a color, splurge on the full size. It’s a little sticky, but not as sticky as the Beauty Rush glosses.
  • Clinique Long Last Glosswear SPF 15 in Air Kiss is a “midtone pink with gold shimmer.” This is a good color for when you wear a lot of eye makeup to keep the lips subtle.
  • Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Lip Gloss in Slice of Heaven and Cherry Bomb are the most inexpensive of the group at $7, or 5 for $20 right now. These are also kinda thick and sticky, so you might not want to wear them when it’s windy because your hair will stick to your lips. Slice of Heaven is a pale pink with blue and red glitter. Cherry Bomb is a red sheer gloss with silver glitter.

Red: Unlike Pants, I’m still an avid user of  SoftLips. I can’t get enough of the stuff. I’m in total denial, but the stuff perhaps, maybe, slightly does seem to dry my lips out. I should maybe switch to a different lip balm, but I think I need more time. Parting is such sweet sorrow.

Left to right: Nars Lip Gloss in Turkish Delight, Tarte Natural Lip Stain with LipSurgence in Moody, Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Pout, and Shiseido Luminizing Lip Gloss in Champagne Sparkle.

  • Nars Lip Gloss in Turkish Delight is a nude pink.  It happens to be one of Kim Kardashian’s all time favorites and mine too. It’s the perfect nude shade. I like this one a lot when I’m doing dark and smokey eyes.
  • Tarte Natural Lip Stain with LipSurgence in Moody is exactly what it says it is, a lip stain.  It’s berry color goes great with a lot of different looks. It’s a perfect stain because it is super moisturizing.  I’ve been wearing it a lot now that the weather has been colder.
  • Smashbox Lip Enhancing Gloss in Pout is that perfect shade of baby pink. I love this shade with super pink cheeks as well. Surprisingly this lip gloss is fairly long wearing. I feel that I don’t have to apply it as often while wearing it.
  • Shiseido Luminizing Lip Gloss in Champagne Sparkle is a great bronzey nudish color. I don’t wear this color alone very often. I find it to be the perfect shade to layer over lip sticks and other glosses. While trying to look this shade up tonight I found out that it’s been discontinued. This makes me so sad because I LOVE this gloss.

Tell us what lip glosses you love love LOVE!

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

