Poll Results – What type of perfume scent do you prefer?

15 Nov

It looks like our lovely readers are a fan of musky scents, according to our latest poll. Musky got 75% of the votes, with fruity following at 25%.

We thought we’d share with you some of our favorite scents.

Reds’ Picks: It usually takes me forever to find a scent I love.  I don’t like anything too earthy or too sweet. I typically like somewhere in between.  Don’t get me wrong though I do love scents like gingerbread and vanilla on occasion. My favorite perfume right now is Viva La Juicy by Juicy Couture. The scent is made up of hints of wild berries, mandarin, honeysuckle, gardenia, jasmine, amber, caramel, vanilla, sandalwood and praline. It’s the perfect mixture of floral, earthy and sweet.

Pants’ Picks: I always say that I prefer food smells – fruity scents and vanillas. And I’m not a fan of how Victoria’s Secret and Bath & Body Works have been naming their lotions lately – I don’t know what Dark Kiss smells like, but it sounds like it’s something you may have to report to the police after it occurs.

Vanilla is my all-time favorite smell. Thus, Vanilla Bean Noel from Bath & Body works is one of my favorites, and I stock up early each season so that I have enough to last me through the year. I typically buy the lotion and get compliments on it all the time. I had one friend who always used to tell me I smell like a cookie when I wear it, so it’s almost a sugar cookie kind of smell.

My go-to “perfume” is Pink With a Splash all over body mist in Fruity and Bright. It has almost a cotton candy smell to it, but it’s not too sweet. At least it’s not too sweet for me. When I hear something smells like cotton candy, I think immediately that it must smell cheap, but this is one of my favorites. Definitely check it out if you haven’t before!

Share your favorite scents with us in the comment section!

xo,

Red & Pants

4 Responses to “Poll Results – What type of perfume scent do you prefer?”

  1. Plum November 15, 2010 at 10:25 pm #

    I was anxious to see today’s post because didn’t think you girls would be musky scent fans. My go-to musky perfume is Rosewood by Banana Republic. I bought a trial size bottle last year (I never use up a full size bottle of anything) and it’s still going strong–but I’m not sure if they still make it. 😦

    My new fave might be Very Hollywood by Michael Kors–definitely lighter and cleaner than Rosewood, but with a hint of musk. The review on Sephora.com describes it like this: “Notes:Mandarin, Gardenia, Vetiver. Style:Seductive. Captivating. Luxurious.” I received a sample with a makeup shipment and loved it. Then, I made an in-store purchase at a Michael Kors location and they filled up my bag with 5 more free samples! Jackpot! Now I have so many samples, I shouldn’t ever have to buy it!

    • Pants November 15, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

      Nice! I thought I had a sample of Very Hollywood, but I can’t find it anywhere, so I guess not. Maybe it was a free sample on Sephora and I considered it, but changed my mind? Another favorite of mine when I want a stronger smell is Dream Angels Heavenly by Victoria’s Secret. I may need to branch out of VS and B&BW works.

  2. Tracy November 15, 2010 at 10:43 pm #

    My favorites are Twilight Woods and Black Raspberry Vanilla from Bath and Body Works. Love the darker scents. I also really like Dark Kiss. lol.

    • Pants November 15, 2010 at 10:56 pm #

      I like Twilight Woods too which really surprised me because it’s not the typical kind of smell that I like. I’ll admit, I haven’t smelled Dark Kiss, so I may like it as well. It’s the name I don’t like. Next time I’m at B&BW I’ll give it a sniff.

Leave a Reply

