Hot Mess!

2 Nov

Here’s another celebrity example of what NOT to do with your makeup. Taylor Momsen please step away from the eyeliner. Now we G&S girls love eyeliner, but we do not abuse it.

We recommend not using eyeliner to look like a racoon unless it’s for a halloween costume.  Moderation is key! Here are some of our favorite eyeliners to use.

Red’s picks:

MAC Eye Kohl in Smolder: This is my go-to liner! I love the black color and how smoothly it goes on.  There are other fun colors in this kind of liner, but black is my favorite!

Stila Kajal Liner in Onyx: I like to use this liner when I want the look of a liquid liner without having to actually use a liquid liner.

Maybelline Eye Studio Lasting Drama Gel Eyeline: I tried this recently and really like it. It comes with a handy dandy brush which surprisingly isn’t bad. I switch back and forth between using that brush and an eyeliner brush I already have. It doesn’t smear or smudge and is pretty easy to apply. I like using this better than a liquid eyeliner.

Pants’ picks:

Stila Smudge Stick Waterproof Eye Liner in Peacock: This is the first Stila eyeliner I’ve tried and I love it. It’s a bright blue, but not so bright that I feel like I can’t wear it everyday or to work. It glides on smoothly and is easy to smudge it on the lids, if that’s the look you want.

Buxom Lashliner in Leatherette: I’m a big fan of the liquid liner look, but I can’t work liquid liner. Maybe it’s a mental thing, but I always end up making a big ‘ol mess. This liner is a great alternative – I can apply it an thin or thick as I want with an angled liner brush.

While I do line my eyes most days, I tend to line with eyeshadow more than actual liners. I like using dark purples and dark browns. They can easily be used as liners with an angled brush and I don’t have to worry about smudging or ending up with that crazy faint line above the crease.

So are we the only ones, or do you think Ms. Momsen needs to enter eyeliner rehab? Let us know!

xo,

Red & Pants

One Response to “Hot Mess!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. { Architecture of Beauty / FOTD } Bronzed Smoke Out Goddess « thereafterish. - January 18, 2011

    […] Momsen photo credit: Glimmer and Shimmer via Google […]

Leave a comment