Drugstore Cowgirls

22 Sep

Staying on the topic of bargains, today we’ve decided to talk about our favorite products you can find at the drugstore or Target/Walmart/Kmart. Because really, we can’t resist perusing the makeup aisles at these places either.

Pants’ Picks:

Garnier Fructis XXL Volume Thickening Mousse

This stuff is ah-maz-ing. I have really fine, straight hair and when I use this product, my hair is HUGE. It doesn’t take much since my hair is shorter, but I apply it all over then flip my head over to dry. I used to love air drying my hair, but it’s gotten to the point where I’m so used to using this product, that I don’t like how my hair looks without it.

The last two times I’ve bought this product at Target, a free mini hair spray was included with it. It is the best smelling hair spray I’ve ever smelled in my life. I rarely use hairspray, but in the future, when I do, I will use Fructis.

Softlips – Lip Polish

First of all, this stuff is coconut flavored/scented which makes it awesome. I was a huge Softlips fan for years. I started using it around 1998/1999. But I’ve noticed over the last year that it seems to dry my lips out more than actually helping prevent them from chapping. I don’t know if the formula changed, but it doesn’t seem to work as well as it used to. I know that for a while, the vanilla scent changed, so there could have been some sort of formula change. Anyway, I just can’t give up the brand even though I know the lip protectant/sunscreen chaps my lips. So I was excited to see this lip polish, which exfoliates the lips. It worked really well, and smelled awesome. Basically you take a tiny bit of the product, rub it on your lips to get rid of the rough/dry skin, then rinse it off. It’s good to use something like this before you wear lipstick because it will apply more evenly.

Blistex Lip Massage

To try to replace Softlips, I’ve tried many different lip products. I think my favorite was Blistex Lip Massage. It makes my lips feel better because it gets rid of dry and rough spots, and also moisturizes. In fact, I lost my original one and definitely need to replace it ASAP. It also has SPF on it, which is a plus.

Red’s Picks:

Rimmel Spark It Up Eyeliner in Peridot

I stumbled up this eyeliner the other day while perusing the makeup aisle in target. I was drawn to it because of the amazing sparkle.  This color is a bluey-green sparkly color. It happens to look very pretty with most colors from Urban Decay’s Book of Shadows.  Also, did you happen to see that Zooey Deschanel is a new spokesmodel for Rimmel? Love her!

Nicole by OPI Nail Polishes


I like the fact that Nicole provides a great high quality polish  that you can get at the drugstore. They have a great assortment of colors. The color can last for several days as long as you use a good base coat and top coat.  The color pictured above is one that I wore most of the summer and is called Fresh Squeezed.

Neutrogena MoistureShine Lip Soother

This lip soother is great! It has SPF in it and comes in some very pretty shades. If you aren’t in the mood for a chapstick, but still need some moisture for your lips, this stuff is it.

What are your favorite drugstore finds?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

