Skin Care Routines (or lack there of)

16 Sep

Skin care is important, blah blah blah blah blah…

Pants’ Routine

Oh, so you want to know how I keep my skin looking so …. pasty? Cleanish? I don’t know how to describe it, but here’s my skin care routine.

Get all that? Yeah, I pretty much don’t do anything besides avoiding the sun like the plague (because I don’t want cancer, not because I don’t want people to see my skin sparkle.)

Over the years I’ve tried different face washes, scrubs, exfoliators, but they dry out my cheeks and forehead. My skin is typically pretty clear, so I just quit trying those products.

At night I take off my eye makeup. I HATE those greasy eye makeup removers, so I found one that I really like that doesn’t leave me feeling like I’ve rubbed bacon over my face – Lancome BI-FACIL (Double Action Eye Makeup Remover.) It’s been recognized by Allure Magazine, Glam.com and has been tested by ophthalmologists for eye safety. Most of Lancome’s gift sets come with mini versions of this product. (You can get it cheaper at All Wholesale Cosmetics!)

That’s the closest to washing my face I get. I know, I know, shun shun. Whatevs. I rarely break out, so I don’t want to hear it.

In the morning before I put on my makeup, I use Clinique’s Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion. I also got this originally as a part of a gift set in a mini size. The mini lasted FOREVER, and is the best moisturizer I’ve ever used. There’s definitely a difference when I use it during the winter. Typically, I’ll put lotion on my dry skin, it’ll feel soft for a while and then after it dries the skin looks flakey again. With this lotion, my face stays moisturized. Because it lasts so long (I use a pea-sized amount daily), I’m OK with paying more for it. Plus, it’s scent-free.

I also use a tinted moisturizer with SPF 20 (Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte) in order to avoid the cancers.

So that’s my “skin care” routine.

Red’s Routine

I have a whole different outlook to skin care than Pants does. When it comes to taking care of your skin I don’t hear BLAH BLAH BLAH. That’s totally unacceptable Pants! I think it’s very important to take care of your skin, especially if you wear makeup.

When I was starting middle school my mom threw a good ol’ Mary Kay Party. There the Mary Kay rep showed us how to cleanse, tone, and moisturize our faces. She showed us a picture of Mary Kay and she didn’t have any wrinkles. I remember thinking Mary Kay is OLD, but has no wrinkles. How did she do it? The rep then showed us when applying anything on the face always do up and out on the forehead and cheeks, down the nose, and down the neck. Apparently that’s how you keep the wrinkles at bay.

That day on I started using a cleanser, toner, and moisturizer. Unfortunately, I wasn’t allowed to wear makeup until I was a Junior in high school. It was so not fair, I know! Once I started wearing makeup my skin went a little wonky, especially around the eye area. I have since found that certain eye shadows really dry out my eyes and make them red and puffy. I didn’t find that out until I graduated from college. After graduating, I moved to the northern Virginia area. There I discovered heaven aka Sephora. I decided that my skin needed an overhaul so I went in for help. I walked out with some amazing things that I still use.

Every night I wash my face with Philosophy’s Purity. This stuff is great! It gets off all of the gunk and grime from the day. It’s so good, that my husband started using it. He likes the way it makes his face feel. I guess washing your face with the same thing you wash your butt with for years wasn’t working out.

Usually every other day or so depending on how my skin feels, I’ll tone my skin. I like to use DDF Glycolic 10% Toning Complex. I always finish this routine with DDF’s Ultra-Lite Oil-Free Moisturizing Dew and Philosophy’s Eye Believe. In the mornings, I use the same moisturizer and eye cream before applying my makeup. I’m a stickler for sun protection therefore my tinted moisturizer contains SPF.

Tell us, what’s your skincare routine?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

