Sparkle or Fade?

9 Sep

Pants and I have recently tried some new and new to us products.  Here’s what we thought!

Red’s Items

Maybelline The Falsies Volum’Express Mascara

I’m always on the lookout for the latest and greatest mascara, and decided to give the Falsies a shot.  I love the look of false eyelashes, but they are too much of a pain for me to use often. The only time I use them is for Ballet performances and I always end up applying them to a million of dancers including myself.  Perhaps that is why I was so intrigued by this mascara promising the look of false eyelashes without the hassle.  I really like the brush of this mascara.  It’s a little more angled and flat so it really helps separate each and every one of your gorgeous lashes.  I highly recommend that you curl your lashes before applying this mascara in order to really give you the false lash effect.  I happen to really like this mascara. It goes on easily and I haven’t had a problem with it clumping.  I give this mascara 3 out of 5 sparkles!

NARS Orgasm Illuminator

Good ol’ Sephora always gives you these enticing samples to try and basically makes you want to spend even more moola. This illuminator was in a sample pack and of course I tried it. I love this stuff! Recently I’ve become obsessed with a very shimmery dewy cheek.  Layer a little of this over your blush and that is exactly what you get.  A little goes a long way too!  Add this item to my NEED list! I give this 4 out of 5 sparkles!

Too Faced Glamour Gloss

Another free sample from Sephora I received was this Glamour Gloss. This gloss has lip plumping agents to it, which you definitely notice, but it isn’t painful. I couldn’t tell if my lips looked fuller or not, but the color was pretty. My lips weren’t dry after using this lip gloss and actually felt pretty moist. I don’t think I’m a big fan of products that make your lips tingle so I give this 2 out of 5 sparkles.

Pants’ Items

Nars Blush – Angelika

I’ve become a fan of blush lately, loving that look of pink on the apples of the cheeks. I decided I wanted to try this and thought I could pull blush off – I’m pale, but I blush very easily, whether it’s because it’s too hot or too cold outside. This pink is exactly what I wanted. I barely have to use any to get the effect I want, so I can tell this $25 blush is going to last a long time and be worth the money. Nars decribes Angelika as being cotton candy with gold particles. It’s a pretty pink and has just enough sparkle to not make it look like I’ve just left a drag show. My only issue is that I don’t think it stays on all day, but that could very well be my fault – I don’t use an all over primer and I touch my face all day. I think if I didn’t touch my face I would probably be fine. But I don’t mind reapplying if I’m going out because I don’t have to use much of it at all. I give this blush 4 out of 5 sparkles.

Mac Viva Glam Lipstick – Gaga

This item was on my birthday wish list, and I picked it up last weekend when I stopped at a Macy’s. I wanted to see the color in person since it looks like a very Barbie, frosty pink lipstick from the photos. The girl at the Mac counter was wearing it, and it looked great on her. My mom even said she wanted to try it and might go back for it! It’s a pale bubblegum pink -you can put on a little for a subtle effect, or put on a lot to get it true to the tube color. It doesn’t make my lips feel dry, and when I apply a lot, it stays on for quite a bit. This is a color that I feel would be appropriate for work or play. I give it 4 out of 5 sparkles.

Buxom Stay-There Eye Shadow – Mutt (exclusive to Sephora)

This set of eyeshadows are all sparkily and creamy, which I consider a big plus. Let’s be honest though – we all know I really wanted to try this in St. Bernand (deep sea green), but I went for a medium brown, Mutt. I thought this would be something that I’d use everyday and if I liked it, I’d go for more colors. Honestly, I’m not really happy with it. It feels like other colors I already have. It is very sparkly, which I love, but I keep applying it hoping to get more color, but it just looks like a nude lid with shimmer. I probably should have gone with the darker brown, Golden Retriever. I do like the coverage, and it does stay, but there’s just not enough color for me. I will try other colors because I like the formula, but for this color, I give it 2 out of 5 sparkles.
One Response to “Sparkle or Fade?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poll Results – Mascara « - September 20, 2010

    […] have talked about this mascara before.  I happen to think that it really does give you that false eye lash look. It also comes in an […]

Leave a Reply

