Trends we love and trends we hate

17 Aug

Just because something is trendy, it doesn't mean it works on everyone... or anyone for that matter. Us Glimmer and Shimmer girls like to see what makeup trends are in each season, but we don't live our lives based on them. If anything, we get excited when something we like becomes trendy (purple eyeshadow, what?! what!?) because that means there's more variety available.

Today we're looking at what current trends we like, versus the ones we would like to see disappear.

Pants' Picks

Trend I hate: Overuse of bronzer

Why, why, why, why, why does anyone want to look like Snooki? Come on girls... I understand wanting a little color in the face, but don't go overboard with the bronzer. Your entire face shouldn't be orange. Please, just use a little on the cheeks, nose, forehead and chin - use it SPARINGLY. Remember ladies, when it comes to makeup, be more like Sookie than Snooki.

I'm pale, and I'm OK with it. I know I used to be tan when I was little and played outside everyday... but since then I can only think of four times when I've been time - during the summers before 9th, 10th, 11th and 12th grades. Standing outside all day for a month before school started for band camp will make you tan. And it wasn't like I had a little color - I was asked during the first week of school one year if I went to the tanning bed. Yeah, my face was Snooki orange. The rest of me looked naturally tan, but my face was a nice citrusy, Garfieldian tangerine. Eff that noise. I think that's why I've avoided the sun so much since then.

I don't have a problem with bronzer. Sun-kissed skin looks nice. But when it looks like the sun had a little too much to drink, and made out all over your face, you've gone too far, ladies. Here are some natural bronzer suggestions:

MAC Blush in Blunt


Too Faced Caribbean In A Compact - Snow Bunny

Trend I like: Pink cheeks
Bright pink cheeks really brighten up the face. Rachel Bilson is already pretty, but her blush in this photo really makes her stand out.

One of my favorite lines from "The Simpsons" is from Marge's mother when she's going to prom: "Whores use rogue; ladies pinch."

That being said, let's whore it up!

I'm still a little scared of blush. When I look at it, I'm intimadated, and worried I'm going to make myself look like a clown. In order to face my fear, I tried out Smashbox's O-Glow. When applied, the clear gel turns hot pink, then turns your cheeks to your natural blushing color. I use it sparingly because it's not often I'm in a blush mood. I've liked it, but I know my mom has had some issues with the product - basically, it dried out her cheeks. She was using it every day, I was using it sporadically.

My next baby step was purchasing NARS' Orgasm Illuminator. It's a liquid version of NARS' super popular peachy pink powder blush. And - surprise, surprise - it's got a little bit of gold sparkle. Not gonna lie - that's what drew me to it. I think my next step is going to be real, big girl blush! Here are some suggestions that I'm considering that will give the pink cheek look:


Tarina Tarantino Dollskin Blush
in Carved Rose
NARS  blush in Agelika (cotton candy) or Desire (cotton candy pink)
Red's Picks
Trend I hate: The Vamp Lip
I don't know what it is, but dark purple/black lips drive me BSI.  It's a very hard trend for anyone to wear and it's one that doesn't translate well to everyday life. Why would you want to look like a vampire? The only kind of vampire's us Glimmer and Shimmer girls like to aspire to look like are the sparkly kind. Also, remember that purple lip colors can make your teeth look yellow. Anyone remember Drew Barrymore's lip color snafu? Let me jog your memory.

If you want to go for a bold dramatic lip, I say do it in a more glamorous way. Try a red or fuscia statement lip. These colors will make those teeth look gorgeous as well. When going for a bold look remember to keep your face fresh, and do a light eye and cheek.

Bold lip suggestions:

Nars Lipstick in Jungle Red
MAC Lipstick in Girl About Town

Trend I like: Mixed Metals

You can wear silver, gold, and bronze on your eyes at the same time? Say what?  I think I just fainted! I hope this trend lasts forever. I will take any excuse to wear all my sparkly metal eye shadows at one time.  The philosophy here at Glimmer and Shimmer is the more sparkly the better.

Here are some palettes that will help you achieve a mixed metal look.

Urban Decay Naked Palette
Illamasqua 4 Color Liquid Metal Palette - 01
NYX One Night in Morocco Makeup Set
xo,
Red & Pants
One Response to “Trends we love and trends we hate”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pants’ Day is comin’ up! « Glimmer and Shimmer - September 1, 2010

    […] Tarina Tarantino Kapinki brush to its full potential. It took a while to decide which to get. In a previous post, I mentioned how I love bright pink cheeks. I was trying to decide between those three colors […]

Leave a Reply

