5 Items

16 Aug

We don’t know about everyone else, but here at Glimmer and Shimmer we are makeup hoarders. We have everything we could ever possibly need tucked away into our makeup bags. Any color, gloss, or cream you name it we have it. Have you ever looked into your more than likely overflowing makeup bag and wondered if you had to get rid of everything but five items, what on earth would you keep? We decided to play this game and come up with our five can’t live without items.

Red’s Must Haves


Stila Illuminated Tinted Moisturizer SPF 15 – Moisturizer  and fresh dewy skin is a must must must!  This tinted moisturizer gives you both plus an extra boost of sun protection. I wear this every day and just can’t live without it. I’ve tried a few different tinted moisturizers, but I keep coming back to the Illuminated Tinted Moisturizer.

Stila Eyeshadow Pan in Kitten – This is the perfect shimmer. I never go anywhere without it. It’s not allowed to ever EVER leave my makeup bag.

L’Oreal Double Extend Mascara in Blackest Black – Mascara is a daily necessity. It doesn’t matter how much or how little makeup you are wearing, mascara is a must.  The Double Extend gives you the effect of thick full lashes, and it happens to be the perfect shade of black.

NARS Lipgloss in Turkish Delight – This is my go to lipgloss. It’s  the most perfect shade of delicate pink.

MAC Blushcreme in Posey – I think blush makes you look fresh and polished.  I could never go without it. Don’t let the bright pink color fool you, this cream blush gives you the best glow.

Pants’ Must Haves

Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte (tinted moisturizer w/ SPF 20) – One reason I avoided makeup for so long was because foundation grossed me out. It was thick and I could FEEL it on my face – nothing about that was appealing. The reason I went toward a tinted moisturizer is because it feels lighter, thinner, but still has the coverage I need. It evens out my skin, and it has SPF. I’ve worn this tinted moisturizer in 90+ degree weather in the sun for hours and hours, and I haven’t had a sun burn on my face since I started using it. Even when I go “natural,” I apply this to protect myself from those darn UV rays.

Covergirl LashBlast Luxe (Black Emerald) – I couldn’t resist a sparkly mascara. It’s very subtle, but that’s all I need. I tried the Covergirl Exact Eyelights Eyebrightening mascara in Black Gold first, but I prefer the brush and coverage I get from the Lashblast Luxe. Even though the Eyelights has more sparkle, I’d rather my eyelashes look thicker and longer.

Urban Decay Deluxe Eyeshadow (Underground) This is my go-to shade when I can’t decide what color to wear or if I’m in a hurry. The dark brown is great with my blue eyes, and makes them pop. Plus, I usually like to be able to see color on my lids, and this shadow does that. Oh, and did I mention, it’s super sparkly? It doesn’t have big chunks of glitter and there’s absolutely no fallout, which makes Underground the perfect everyday shade. Urban Decay’s shadows go on so smoothly  and the coverage is great. This is always in my makeup bag when I travel.

Urban Decay Primer Potion (Sin) – At first I thought primers were just a way for companies to get more money, but after trying a sample of this product, I found out that wasn’t the case at all. Eyeshadow primers are a must! My eyeshadow hasn’t worn off or collected in creases since I started using this product. Plus, like a lot of my makeup, it is sparkly. In fact, it could even be worn by itself if I were forced to pick only three items.

Elizabeth Arden Color Intrigue Shadow (Sparkle) – Again with the sparkly! No, I promise I’m not trying to be a vampire, although that Alice Cullen has super cute style. I’ve always had a weakness for sparkles and bright colors. This shadow is a nice pinky beige, with a lot of sparkle to it. I prefer to use it as a highlighter on my brow bone, and sometimes on the lid when I want a natural look with a little bit of flair.

Leave a Reply

