Tried It Tuesday – Chanel Vitalumière Aqua

6 Mar

About a month ago, we took a trip up to Pittsburgh for a makeup adventure. We both ended up leaving with this Chanel foundation. Today, we’re going to tell you what we think about it.

Chanel Vitalumière Aqua ($45, macys.com)

Red - I had been on the look out for an extremely hydrating foundation. I have dry skin and my skin loves any extra moisture it can get. I started hearing lovely things about this foundation and immediately set out to buy it.

I have been wearing this every day since I bought it. I like to apply it with a beauty blender. I have been wearing a hydrating foundation primer with this as well. I LOVE this stuff. It goes on so smoothly and you can’t even tell that you are wearing anything. It blends into the skin flawlessly. I seriously think since wearing this my skin has looked the best it has looked in a really really long time. I haven’t had any problem with dry flakes or break outs. I think I have finally found my holy grail of foundation.

I give Chanel Vitalumière Aqua 5 out of 5 sparkles.

Pants – Red told me about this foundation and started sending me video reviews. Like I’ve said 800 times, I’m trying to find a replacement for my beloved discontinued Lancome Aqua Fusion Teinte. Since this foundation also has SPF 15 in it, and is water-based, I thought it might be the perfect replacement.

Well, I’ve been having skin issues. I have combination skin, but it’s always leaned more on the oily side in my T-zone. Well with this foundation, (and to be fair, every other foundation I’ve tried lately) I’ve been looking like a powdery/flakey mess. I’ve had some dry patches on my forehead and on my cheeks.

I stopped using a setting powder on top. I switched moisturizers. I’ve worn a primer. I’ve used a setting spray. I’ve exfoliated. Each of these things have helped slightly, but I still look a little flakey/powdery. I’ve been applying the foundation with a Beauty Blender, but I’m thinking about switching to a foundation brush tomorrow to see if that changes things.

I do like how this foundation looks on me, but the flakiness has got to stop. I’m hoping my skin stops being so weird in the next few weeks as it starts to warm up.

I give Chanel Vitalumière Aqua 4 out of 5 sparkles.

 

Tell us, have you tried out any new foundations recently?

xo,

Red & Pants

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 64 other followers

